Posted in Car Insurance Claims on August 3, 2020
Severe car accidents have severe consequences for victims and their households. In addition to the physical pain of injury and healing, car accidents come with medical expenses, lost wages, and non-economic costs from pain and suffering. Typically, accident victims can file an insurance claim with the at-fault driver’s auto insurance company to recover compensation. Yet, when the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance, other motorists involved in the accident are left to deal with the economic consequences of property damages and injuries from the accident.
A review of Louisiana’s insurance laws, uninsured motorist insurance in Louisiana, and steps you should take after an accident with an uninsured driver will provide the information you need to recover compensation for your losses and injuries related to the accident.
Louisiana law requires all motorists to carry liability auto insurance. The minimum coverage requirements are:
Uninsured motorists who do not comply with Louisiana’s insurance requirements are breaking the law. They face fines between $500 and $1,000 for knowingly driving a car without insurance as well as license suspension or revocation and having their car impounded.
Under Louisiana law, motorists do not have to buy uninsured motorist insurance; however, UM coverage can prevent economic loss in the event of an accident. If you have uninsured motorist coverage, it will kick in if a driver causes an accident and doesn’t have auto insurance. Your policy will only kick in up to your policy limit. Even if your medical expenses, lost wages, and other damages exceed your UM policy limit, your coverage can help cover immediate financial needs. You can also purchase UM coverage for property damage that will cover the cost of repairs to your vehicle if an uninsured driver hits your vehicle and causes damage.
If you do not have Louisiana UM coverage, you are forced to absorb your losses unless you contact a personal injury attorney to help you take direct legal action against the uninsured driver.
If you’ve recently suffered injuries in an accident with an uninsured driver, take the following steps to preserve the value of your claim. Your insurance company will still investigate your claim before they pay out on your policy. Steps you should follow to help you recover the maximum amount of compensation in an insurance claim and/or lawsuit include:
A skilled personal injury attorney can navigate the complexities of your uninsured driver case. If an uninsured driver hits you and causes injuries, you typically have three options going forward to recover some or all of your financial loss:
If you’ve sustained injuries in a traffic accident with an uninsured driver in Louisiana, you deserve compensation for losses related to the accident. A skilled lawyer can support you through investigating your case and gather evidence to support your claim. The experienced legal team at the Law Office of John W. Redmann has decades of experience representing injured accident victims, including those who suffered harm at the hands of an uninsured driver. Contact us online today or at 504-500-5000 for a free case evaluation to determine the viability of your claim and learn the best way forward for you after an accident with an uninsured motorist.